The three things you shouldn’t do while riding your bicycle

29 May

 

I learned  a lesson on a Friday. A valuable one.

I was on my way back from class, riding the same streets I do almost everyday. No surprises. Same traffic lights, same path. I had been walking towards the bicing station with a friend to whom I was telling the story of this guy who had once been fined with €120 for going through a red traffic light – with his bike. You know, this is the kind of story you use to laugh at someone. Not to be cruel, but out of fear…like who hasn’t ever ignored a red light when riding his or her bike. I have, not all the time, but sometimes, sometimes I do. Anyway, we were both saying something like “what a loser, getting a fine for that.”

Then I got on the bike, I said good-bye to my friend and when I was on the road I called the guy in question; the one who had been fined. And while on the phone, I went through a red traffic light, one where there are never cars, it’s more of a pedestrian light, really. And what was waiting for me right next to it? Two police officers, looking at me. One of them waved at me to stop. “I’m in trouble,” I though. I was being punished for making fun of others.

“Talking on the phone and going through a red traffic light,” one of them said (at least he forgot to mention being slightly drunk: on the last day of class we celebrated with this special rum a girl from class brought from Venezuela). “This will cost you 3 points and a fine.” “Oh,” my face was totally motionless, in fear. “I’m so sorry, officer. The thing is I was just making fun of a guy I know who had to pay 120euro. I know this road too well.” “And that’s a problem: when you think you know the road. It’s still dangerous, you wouldn’t have seen the car, if there was one,” he replied. The only thing that came out of my mouth was the following retarded sentence:

“I was very excited because they gave me a prize today in class.”

One of them turned to his colleague. He said “it’s not in my hand. My colleague will have to decide if we give you a fine or not.”

Then I looked at the other officer. He was very serious and then said “so what was the prize of?”

And then I knew I was saved.

I hope that you, reader, if ever decide to take your bicycle drunk, talk on the phone while riding AND ignore red traffic lights make sure there are no police cars around. But better not doing it at all. Or only one of them…

Happy Sunday!

 

 

5 Responses to “The three things you shouldn’t do while riding your bicycle”

  1. mamus 29/05/2011 at 13:46 #

    no saps quina sort que has tingut…Hauria pogut ser que, a més dels dos policies, també hagués estat allà mateix la teva santa mare!!! I llavors si que haguesis esta en perill!! Jijijijij…!!!!

  2. Pedaleando Boy 31/05/2011 at 16:55 #

    So you felt lucky! ;)

    • taaniit 31/05/2011 at 19:09 #

      very, very lucky. It was definitely my lucky day:)

  3. Antonio 05/06/2011 at 11:19 #

    che culo!!!

Leave a Reply

