I’ve seen you before, Lady

19 Mar

Yes, yes I have.

Quite recently actually, I think Thursday. The purple one, I mean. It was going down carrer Balmes (a long street that pretty much crosses Barcelona from North to South).  Just a few minutes before I had seen a girl on a turquoise road bike so it was a bit like a dream on my way to Uni . Of course I was riding a Bicing bicycle (gosh they are ugly). This event made me think — one would assume here that my main worry in life are bicycles but don’t be fooled! Other serious stuff happens as well – i.e. which bicycle actually get and how to get the money for it. See? So yeah, it made me think that I can’t call myself a bike enthusiast unless I actually ride a bicycle that is worthy to put on this blog. With this in mind, I headed once again to La Bicicleteria (no website apparently), the vintage bicycle santuarium in Barcelona asking for the one I had been very close to buying. I made up my mind. The red Orbea had to be mine. And so I went. Thing is, the guy said to me that he sold it like a day after I refused to buy it. Is this an omen that I will never ride a decent bike in this city? I hope not.

To finish up with this post: the other day I was waiting on a traffic light –yes, sometimes I do wait– when I saw Simon, the organiser of the Spanish Bicycle Film Festival and mechanic at My Beautiful Parking (love their website by the way). He was obviously riding a cool road bicycle down the street and I stood there, motionless, on my Bicing looking like a loser. He recognised me and said ‘hi’ which was uplifting (it still felt like he was laughing at me though).

But yeah, I need a bike. And I know I keep saying it. This time for real though: got a list of second hand bike shops in Barcelona. And I will call them all until I find my love.

One Response to “I’ve seen you before, Lady”

  1. Have you ever considered writing an e-book or guest authoring on other websites?
    I have a blog centered on the same subjects you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my subscribers would value your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

Leave a Reply

